Bringing a Dog or Cat to Canada: Import Rules & Crate Checklist (2026)
Last verified: 14 October 2026 · Rules change — always confirm with your airline/authority before travel.
For personal pets, Canada is one of the more straightforward destinations. The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) focuses on rabies: most dogs and cats aged 3 months or older need proof of a current rabies vaccination (or an alternative such as residence in a rabies-free country), and pet dogs are not quarantined after import. Commercial imports of young dogs for breeding, resale or adoption are a different story, with permits, microchips and approved quarantine facilities. Requirements depend on age, origin, purpose and whether the owner travels with the animal; CFIA's interactive tool walks you through them. This guide reflects CFIA pages checked on 14 October 2026.
At a glance
| Requirement | Cats ≥3 months | Personal dogs ≥8 months | Commercial dogs <8 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rabies proof | Vet certificate (English/French): current vaccination, OR 6 months in a rabies-free country, OR RNATT ≥0.5 IU/ml | Valid rabies certificate or RNATT ≥0.5 IU/ml (rabies-free country certificate also accepted) | Vaccination at ≥3 months + 28 days before export |
| Under 3 months | No restrictions (cats); no rabies requirement (dogs) | n/a | Must be ≥16 weeks at export |
| Microchip | Not stated for personal pets | Not stated for personal pets | ISO microchip required |
| Import permit | Not stated | Not stated | Required (My CFIA, 3 months, single entry) |
| Quarantine | Not mentioned | None for pet dogs | Pre-approved quarantine facility required |
| Assistance dogs | n/a | No restrictions when accompanied by user | n/a |
Step-by-step timeline
2+ months before travel
- Use CFIA's interactive tool to choose your animal, age, purpose and origin group ("Frequent" for the U.S. and Mexico, rabies-free countries, or other).
- Rabies vaccination from a licensed vet, recorded on a certificate in English or French that identifies the animal. For dogs and cats under 3 months, CFIA does not require rabies vaccination.
- Alternative: RNATT. CFIA accepts a rabies antibody result of at least 0.5 IU/ml taken at least 30 days after a prior vaccination (one subsection for dogs from non-rabies-free countries says "three to four weeks"). The lab report must identify the animal and travel with it.
- Alternative for rabies-free origins: a vet certificate showing rabies has been absent from the country for 6 months and the pet lived there for those 6 months or since birth.
Within 72 hours before import (unaccompanied dogs under 8 months) 5. Veterinary exam and certificate confirming the dog is at least 8 weeks old, healthy and fit to travel, with distemper, hepatitis, parvovirus and parainfluenza vaccines given from 6 weeks of age.
Commercial dogs under 8 months (breeding, resale, adoption) 6. Apply for a permit through My CFIA (valid 3 months, single entry), arrange a CFIA-pre-approved quarantine facility, use an ISO microchip, vaccinate against rabies at 3 months or older at least 28 days before export, give parasite treatment, and book the CFIA inspection before departure.
Documents checklist
- Rabies vaccination certificate (English or French) identifying the animal, or RNATT lab report, or rabies-free residence certificate
- For unaccompanied young dogs: veterinary certificate issued within 72 hours of import
- For commercial dogs: CFIA permit and inspection booking
- Your airline's own pet documents
Quarantine
CFIA's Import Reference Document states that "pet dogs are not subject to post-import quarantine in Canada." If an animal arrives without acceptable rabies documentation, a CFIA inspector may order rabies vaccination at the owner's expense within a set period. Commercial importers of dogs under 8 months must have a CFIA-pre-approved quarantine facility in case dogs need further inspection or quarantine.
Airline crate checklist (IATA)
IATA container requirements (Edition 52, January 2026), measured with your pet standing:
- Length: A + ½B
- Width: C × 2 for one animal (C × 3 for two, C × 4 for three)
- Height: D + bedding
- Snub-nosed breeds: 10% larger container
- Ventilation: at least 16% of the total surface of the four sides, on all four sides
- Plastic crates: halves securely bolted, not held by plastic clips alone
- Water: container fixed inside, refillable from outside
Winter connections through Canadian hubs can be long, so confirm your airline's temperature and cargo policies as well.
FAQ
Does my dog need a microchip to enter Canada? CFIA states an ISO microchip requirement for commercial dogs under 8 months. We did not find one for personal pets on the pages we checked; your airline or a transit country may still require one.
Is there quarantine for pet dogs? No. CFIA says pet dogs are not subject to post-import quarantine.
Does my kitten need a rabies shot? Cats under 3 months have no import restrictions. From 3 months, a rabies certificate (or an accepted alternative) is required.
Can my puppy from a breeder enter? Commercial dogs under 8 months need a permit, ISO microchip, rabies vaccination and must be at least 16 weeks old at export.
Are certain breeds banned in Canada? We did not find a national import breed ban on CFIA pages. Provinces or cities may have their own rules.
Check your crate and documents
Measure your pet and use the free IATA crate size calculator. If you want a second pair of eyes on your rabies certificate wording and dates, the $89 Full Audit reviews your document checklist against CFIA requirements.
Official sources (verified 14 Oct 2026)
- CFIA, Bringing animals to Canada: Importing and travelling with pets (modified 2024-07-22): https://inspection.canada.ca/en/importing-food-plants-animals/pets
- CFIA, Import Reference Document (modified 2025-10-08): https://inspection.canada.ca/en/animal-health/terrestrial-animals/imports/import-policies/general/reference-document
- CFIA, Commercial dogs under 8 months, Fact sheet: Then and now (modified 2024-07-05): https://inspection.canada.ca/en/importing-food-plants-animals/pets/ask-questions-you-get-dog/commercial-imports-8-months/fact-sheet
- IATA container requirements (Ed. 52, Jan 2026): https://www.iata.org/contentassets/b0016da92c86449f850fe9560827bbea/pet-container-requirements.pdf
Rules change. PetFlyCheck is independent; always confirm with the official authority and your vet before travel.
